When in an argument how do you react?

• Elites
Posted (edited)

I usually just try to reason with them. If they're still arguing with me, I just listen to what they're upset about and hopefully it'll get resolved by us just talking it out. I'm normally calm, zen, and when someone is upset or mad, it concerns me and stresses me out. 

Yoga Keep GIF by Acqua Lete

Edited by Lilliako
typo
  • Star 1

I'm not very good at conflict. I guess my answer would also depend on who is upset with who.

If I'm the one that is upset, I generally get really quiet first. Most people pressure me into "talking it out." That is not the best approach with me. It's not that I don't want to discuss things. It's just that I will when I'm ready to. I'm a thinker and it takes me awhile to process my emotions. If pressured into talking out an argument too soon before I've had time to process, then I have a tendency to lash out and say things I don't mean. I'm a rational type person so I know not to always trust feelings and emotions. I have to think about a situation and evaluate what I'm feeling, why I feel that way, am I being unfair or irrational, and so on. Once I work through all that, then I'll be ready to talk it out.

If someone is upset with me, then I usually want to know why and how I can make it better. I don't like people being mad at me. I will be calm if the other person is calm. If a person is yelling and screaming, then I will shut down. 

• Star 1

9 minutes ago, Lilliako said:

I usually just try to reason with them. If they're still arguing with me, I just listen to what they're upset about and hopefully it'll get resolved by us just talking it out. I'm normally calm, zen, and when someone is upset or mad, it concerns me and stresses me out. 

Yoga Keep GIF by Acqua Lete

Definitely relate. I've had instances where if they were stressing out, I was becoming stressed out. Talking through things is so much easier. At least I believe so. Nice answer ❤